Because the natural world and peoples’ wellbeing are two things that we value particularly highly, all of our products have been certified under either the BDIH or COSMOS standards for natural cosmetics. Here’s an explanation on what these certifications cover, and what they mean.

BDIH is a German certification awarded by a non-profit association to manufacturers around the world; it is an unmistakable sign that a natural cosmetic has been certified and approved.

The BDIH standard describes requirements relating to the extraction or production of cosmetic raw materials and their processing. Here, particular consideration is given to wildlife conservation, both in general and especially of endangered species.

WHAT CRITERIA MUST BE MET FOR BDIH CERTIFICATION?

Vegetable raw materials

Vegetable raw materials must come from certified organic source material, insofar as they consist of or have been obtained from plants.

Animal Raw Materials

The use of substances produced by animals (e.g. beeswax or honey) is permitted. The use of raw materials from dead vertebrates (e.g. emu oil, mink oil, marmot fat or other animal fats, collagen and live cells) is not permitted.

ANIMAL TESTING AND FINAL PRODUCTS

No testing on animals may be carried out or commissioned, neither in the production nor in the development or testing of the end products.

ANIMAL TESTING AND RAW MATERIALS

Raw materials that have been tested on animals after December 31, 1997 may not be used. This does not include animal experiments carried out by third parties who have neither acted on behalf of or at the instigation of the raw material manufacturer, the raw material supplier, or the manufacturer of the end product, nor are associated with them under company law.

MINERAL RAW MATERIALS

The use of inorganic and mineral salts, acids, and alkalis (e.g. magnesium sulfate or sodium chloride) is generally permitted. (For exceptions, see paragraph on "Prohibited substances").

PERMITTED MANUFACTURING PROCESSES

In addition to physical processes including extraction with water, vegetable alcohol, carbonic acid, vegetable fats and oils and glycerine obtained from them, enzymatic and microbiological processes as they occur in nature are also permitted in the production of natural cosmetics. In addition, substances may be obtained from natural substances such as fats, oils and waxes, sugars, starches, cellulose, proteins, polysaccharides, and vitamins by hydrolysis, hydrogenation, oxidation, reduction, esterification, or other fission and condensation processes. On the website of the BDIH you will find a list of permitted substances which is regularly updated. All restrictions contained in this list must be observed.

PROHIBITED SUBSTANCES

Substances from the following substance groups may not be used:

  • organic-synthetic dyes
  • synthetic fragrances
  • ethoxylated raw materials
  • silicones
  • paraffins and other petroleum products
PRESERVATIVES

For the purpose of consumer protection, the following nature-identical preservatives can be used if necessary:

  • Benzoic acid and salts derived from it
  • Salicylic acid and salts derived from it
  • Sorbic acid and salts derived from it
  • Benzyl alcohol
  • Dehydroacetic acid and salts derived from it

When using these preservatives, this statement must be included on the packaging: “Preserved with... [name of the preservative]”.

FRAGRANCES

Only natural fragrances that comply with the ISO 9235 standard are permitted. Fragrances produced using biotechnology may also be used.

RADIOACTIVE IRRADIATION

The treatment of vegetable and animal raw materials or the end products with ionizing radiation is not permitted.

RESOURCES & PACKAGING

According to BDIH, the labels for the products must also be ecologically friendly. They must be produced in an environmentally friendly and resource-saving manner, and the raw materials must be as biodegradable as possible. The packaging must also consist of recyclable materials and generally be as limited as possible. Source: https://www.kontrollierte-naturkosmetik.de/

COSMOS STANDARD

The COSMOS Standard was introduced in 2010 in order to provide a clear, unified standard and thus reduce the variety of certification bases and resulting confusion. Since 2017, new products have been tested exclusively according to this new standard. The new seal consists of two components: the already-familiar symbol (in this case, BDIH) and a COSMOS signature, depending on whether the cosmetic product is natural or organic.


WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN COSMOS ORGANIC AND COSMOS NATURAL?

COSMOS NATURAL

The COSMOS NATURAL signature is for products that meet every aspect of the COSMOS Standard, but do not contain the required minimum organic-ingredient content specified in the COSMOS Standard.

COSMOS ORGANIC

The COSMOS ORGANIC signature is for products that meet every aspect of the COSMOS Standard and also contain the required minimum organic-ingredient content specified in the COSMOS Standard. The label of a given product must indicate the proportion of organic ingredients it contains. This refers to a percentage of organic content in the total product; however, as some products contain a large amount of water and mineral ingredients (which cannot be organic), the percentage of organic content indicated will also be given minus these two ingredient categories. The minimum percentage of organic content in the total product is 20%. As an exception, at least 10% of the total product must be organic for rinse-off products, non-emulsified aqueous products and products containing at least 80% minerals or components of mineral origin.

Source: https://www.cosmos-standard.org/

Shop now certified products

Kostenloser Versand innerhalb Deutschlands. | Kundenservice: +49 30 311 96-190

ZERTIFIZIERUNGEN KURZ ERKLÄRT

ZertifizierungUns liegt die Natur und der Mensch am Herzen, daher sind alle unsere Produkte entweder nach BDIH-Standard oder COSMOS-Standard zertifiziert. Im Folgenden erklären wir, was diese Zertifizierung alles beinhaltet und bedeutet.

Die BDIH-Zertifizierung (ein Zertifizierung durch einen Non-Profit Verband) steht als unverwechselbares Zeichen für kontrollierte Naturkosmetik und wird weltweit vergeben.

Der BDIH-Standard beschreibt Anforderungen, welche sich auf die Gewinnung bzw. Erzeugung der Kosmetikrohstoffe sowie auf deren Verarbeitung beziehen. Hierbei werden die Belange des Tier- und Artenschutzes besonders berücksichtigt.

WELCHE KRITERIEN MÜSSEN FÜR EINE BDIH-ZERTIFIZIERUNG ERFÜLLT WERDEN?

Pflanzliche Rohstoffe müssen aus zertifiziertem ökologischem Ausgangsmaterial stammen, soweit sie aus Pflanzen bestehen oder gewonnen wurden.

TIERISCHE ROHSTOFFE

Der Einsatz von Stoffen, die von Tieren produziert werden (z.B. Bienenwachs, Honig), ist gestattet. Der Einsatz von Rohstoffen aus toten Wirbeltieren (z.B. Emuöl, Nerzöl, Murmeltierfett, tierische Fette, Collagen und Frischzellen) ist nicht gestattet.

TIERVERSUCHE UND ENDPRODUKTE

Weder bei der Herstellung noch bei der Entwicklung oder Prüfung der Endprodukte dürfen Tierversuche durchgeführt oder in Auftrag gegeben werden.

TIERVERSUCHE UND ROHSTOFFE

Rohstoffe, die nach dem 31.12.1997 im Tierversuch getestet wurden, dürfen nicht verwendet werden. Außer Betracht bleiben Tierversuche, die durch Dritte durchgeführt wurden, die weder im Auftrag oder auf Veranlassung des Rohstoffherstellers, des Rohstoffanbieters oder des Herstellers des Endproduktes gehandelt haben, noch mit diesen gesellschaftsrechtlich verbunden sind.

MINERALISCHE ROHSTOFFE

Der Einsatz anorganischer und mineralischer Salze, Säuren und Laugen (z.B. Magnesiumsulfat, Natriumchlorid) ist grundsätzlich gestattet. (Ausnahmen siehe Absatz “unerlaubte Stoffe”).

ERLAUBTE HERSTELLUNGSPROZESSE

Für die Herstellung von Naturkosmetika sind neben physikalischen Verfahren einschließlich der Extraktion mit Wasser, pflanzlichem Alkohol, Kohlensäure, pflanzlichen Fetten und Ölen sowie hieraus gewonnenem Glycerin auch enzymatische und mikrobiologische Verfahren zulässig, wie sie in der Natur vorkommen. Daneben dürfen Stoffe aus Naturstoffen wie Fette, Öle und Wachse, Zucker, Stärke, Cellulose, Eiweiße, Polysaccharide, Vitamine mittels Hydrolyse, Hydrierung, Oxidation, Reduktion, Veresterung oder sonstigen Spaltungen und Kondensationen gewonnen werden. Auf der Seite des BDIH findest Du eine erweiterbare Liste mit zulässigen Stoffen. In dieser Liste aufgeführte Einschränkungen sind zu beachten.

NICHT ERLAUBTE STOFFE

  • Stoffe aus den folgenden Stoffgruppen dürfen nicht verwendet werden:
  • organisch-synthetische Farbstoffe
  • synthetische Duftstoffe
  • ethoxilierte Rohstoffe
  • Silikone
  • Paraffine und andere Erdölprodukte

KONSERVIERUNG

Zum Zwecke des Verbraucherschutzes können erforderlichenfalls die folgenden naturidentischen Konservierungsmittel verwendet werden:

  • Benzoesäure und ihre Salze
  • Salicylsäure und ihre Salze
  • Sorbinsäure und ihre Salze
  • Benzylalkohol
  • Dehydroacetsäure und ihre Salze

Beim Einsatz dieser Konservierungsstoffe ist der Zusatz: "Konserviert mit ... [Name des Konservierungsstoffes]" erforderlich.

RIECHSTOFFE

Zugelassen sind natürliche Riechstoffe, die der ISO Norm 9235 entsprechen. Außerdem können biotechnologisch gewonnene Riechstoffe verwendet werden.

RADIOAKTIVE BESTRAHLUNG

Die Behandlung von pflanzlichen und tierischen Rohstoffen und der Endprodukte mit ionisierenden Strahlen ist nicht zulässig.

RESSOURCEN & VERPACKUNG

Laut BDIH müssen die belabelten Produkte außerdem ökologisch verträglich sein. Sie müssen umwelt- und ressourcenschonend hergestellt werden und die Rohstoffe müssen so gut wie möglich ökologisch abbaubar sein. Die Verpackungsmaterialien müssen außerdem aus recycelbaren Materialien bestehen und möglichst sparsam eingesetzt werden. Quelle: https://www.kontrollierte-naturkosmetik.de/

COSMOS-STANDARD

Der COSMOS-Standard wurde 2010 eingeführt, mit dem Ziel, einen vereinheitlichten Standard und weniger unterschiedliche und damit verwirrende Zertifizierungsgrundlagen zu haben. Seit 2017 werden neue Produkte ausschließlich nach diesem neuen Standard geprüft. Das neue Siegel setzt sich aus zwei Komponenten zusammen: dem bekannten Zeichen (in diesem Fall BDIH) und einer COSMOS-Signatur, je nachdem ob es sich um Naturkosmetik oder Biokosmetik handelt.

WAS BEDEUTET COSMOS ORGANIC ODER COSMOS NATURAL?

COSMOS NATURAL

Die COSMOS NATURAL Signatur steht für Produkte, die unter allen Gesichtspunkten dem COSMOS-Standard entsprechen, aber nicht die geforderten Mindest-Bio-Anteile gemäß COSMOS-Standard enthalten.

COSMOS ORGANIC

Die COSMOS ORGANIC Signatur steht für Produkte, die unter allen Gesichtspunkten dem COSMOS-Standard entsprechen und zusätzlich die erforderlichen Anteile an biologischen Bestandteilen gemäß COSMOS-Standard enthalten. Auf dem Etikett eines Produkts muss der Anteil der Bio-Bestandteile angegeben sein. Dabei handelt es sich um den prozentualen Bio-Anteil des Gesamtprodukts, aber da einige Produkte viel Wasser und mineralische Bestandteile enthalten, die nicht biologisch sein können, wird auch der prozentuale Bio-Anteil abzüglich dieser beiden Bestandteil-Kategorien angegeben. Der Mindestanteil an Bio-Anteilen im Gesamtprodukt liegt bei 20%. Als Ausnahme müssen bei Rinse-off Produkten, nicht emulgierten wässrigen Produkten und bei Produkten, die mindestens 80% Mineralien oder Bestandteile mineralischen Ursprungs enthalten, mindestens 10% des Gesamtproduktes biologisch sein.

Quelle: https://www.cosmos-standard.org/